Clearwater Christian College CCC Campus News CCC Twitter CCC Facebook

College Celebrates 42nd Commencement

Marla Blakemore ('10) with son, Andrew ('08)
The faculty and staff of Clearwater Christian College are pleased to announce the successful commencement of the Class of 2010. On Saturday, May 8, friends, family, and supporters gathered at Ruth Eckerd Hall to participate in the crowning moment for the graduating class. The day began with its usual excitement as the 93 undergraduate and 2 graduate students gathered in the lobby to don their gowns and mortarboards. This commencement marks the first graduating class from the CCC Masters’ of Educational Leadership program, Marla Blakemore and Sarah Pannone.

Ryan Blakemore receives Arthur E. Steele Award
One of the most prestigious elements of the CCC Commencement Ceremony is the presentation of the Arthur E. Steele Award. This honor is awarded to a graduating senior based upon his or her service and leadership activities and the choice selection by faculty and staff. Ryan Blakemore, Bachelor of Science in Music from Spring Hill, FL, was this year’s recipient of the Arthur E. Steele Award for his exemplary character and dedication. Following this award, 2010 Class President, Todd Bennett presented the school with a class gift of much-needed supplies and materials for the Biology Lab.

Dr. Stratton, Dr. Spotts, Dr. Youstra
The commencement address was given by Dr. Norman Spotts former pastor of Easton Union Church in Mt. Holly, NJ and beloved member of the CCC family for nearly 40 years. Dr. Spotts retired from active ministry to the college in 2002, but continues to offer intercessory prayer for the student body and administration. His charge to the graduates challenged them to "spend and be spent" in their future ministries and vocations. Dr. Spotts not only gave the Class of 2010 words to live by, but also provided the entire assembly with a tool to examine their own hearts.

5 Commissioned 2nd Lieutenants
We were happy to have former presidents George Youstra and Arthur Steele greeting the graduates as they left the stage. This is Dr. Steele’s 42nd commencement also. He will be turning 90 years old in June.

As Dr. Richard Stratton introduced the distinguished guests from the United States Armed Forces, the five graduating ROTC cadets were honored with a standing ovation as their commissioning was recognized by the entire student body and commencement guests. Brooke Begemann (Air Force), Joshua Kettenton (Marines), Brian Cavender (Army), Phillip Duddles (Air Force), and Joel Aliff (Air Force) were commissioned 2nd Lieutenants in their respective branches of the United States Armed Forces.

Commencement 2010 was a day full of joy, family love, and a few tears, but in the end, only happiness and prayers followed the Class of 2010 as they stepped off into their "happily ever afters!"

Congratulations, Class of 2010!

Click on the following links for more photos:
Commencement and Senior Brunch