Clearwater Christian College CCC Campus News CCC Twitter CCC Facebook

College Celebrates 43rd Commencement

Beth Darby, graduate student
and Gabby Redmond
The faculty and staff of Clearwater Christian College are pleased to announce the successful commencement of the Class of 2011. On Saturday, May 7, friends, family, and supporters gathered at Ruth Eckerd Hall to participate in the crowning moment for the graduating class. 124 undergraduate students and one graduate student received their diplomas after successfully completing the requirements for their degrees.

One of the most prestigious elements of the CCC commencement ceremony is the presentation of the Arthur E. Steele Award. This honor is awarded to a graduating senior based upon his or her service and leadership activities and the choice selection by faculty and staff. Joanna Wiedeman, Bachelor of Arts in History from Lehigh Acres, FL, was this year’s recipient of the Arthur E. Steele Award for her exemplary character and dedication.  

Dr. Richard Stratton, president and
Joanna Wiedeman, Arthur E. Steele award recipient
Following this award, 2011 class president, Nathan Perrie presented the school with a class gift of a water filtration system for select water fountains on campus. Dr. Stratton also honored 1989 alumnus Diana Joss as a Distinguished Alumnus for her many years of faithful service to Christ and support of the CCC family.

This year, three graduating ROTC cadets were honored with a standing ovation by the entire assembly. Elliot Eggert (Marines), John White (Army), and Joshua Wurst (Army) were commissioned 2nd Lieutenants in their respective branches of the United States Armed Forces. In addition to his degree from CCC, 2nd Lieutenant John White received the Distinguished Cadet Award for Academic Excellence from the national organization of ROTC during his commissioning on April 27. Military guests to commencement included Major John Macksam, Lieutenant Colonel Padraig Clark, and Sergeant First Class John Briggs of the United States Army and Commander James Harvey of the United States Navy.

Dr. Matthew Olson, commencement speaker
The commencement address was given by Dr. Matthew Olson, president of Northland Ministries. Northland Ministries is the organization that houses the collective ministries of Northland International University, Northland Camp and Conference Center, and Pioneer Christian School located in Dunbar, Wisconsin. Dr. Olson presented a charge to the graduates to view their respective fields, albeit some in the secular world, as a God-given ministry.

Congratulations, Class of 2011!

View more photos in the Photo Gallery or on the CCC Facebook page.